Game Design – Week 8 – Logic, Flowcharts, and Coding

“Binary code” by Christiaan Colen is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

When asked the most important thing I should teach my students, the MIT student I was interviewing simply stated , ‘ teach them logic.’ – Mr. Le Duc

SUMMARY

  • This week was a week that I learned the most things that I can use extensively.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

PlayCanvas

Screenshot from Sololearn.com

Unity

Screenshot from Sololearn.com

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image from https://monkeyblogmonkeydo.com/2010/07/19/so-duh-pop-quiz-classic-video-game-flowchart-edition/
  • Topics I want to remember:
    • Flow charts can have multipule endings
    • Flow charts can be used for a multitude of things
    • Each block represents an action that would be made in the programming of what it is being used for.
    • Color coded blocks help others understand what the blocks are for/what type of block they are.
    • Document blocks represent the saving of a specified data.
    • Two ending blocks can be used instead of one start and one end.

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

  • I learned that when creating a flowchart, you have to thing about every possible choice able to be made in the chart for whatever it is for.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • When I create something, I should try to keep a stable mental state if it gains popularity.

STUDIO (GAME DESIGN)

I learned some PlayCanvas things.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • Today I had to complete multiple assignments that I had to come up with ideas on, because of these assignments I am learning to get better at thinking outside of the box by solving problems I may have in my school.

WEEKLY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

  • The content in this weeks assignment was great and helped me learn more in the game development process and the way to do this was also helpful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *